CARBO­NI­SA­TION – EFFI­CIENT AND PROFI­TABLE

Carbo­ni­sa­tion – the conver­sion of natural mate­rial to biochar, feeding char or activated carbon – is a process that has been known for many centu­ries. However, only the PYREG process allows the precise control of the para­me­ters, so that carbon products can be produced in various quality grades and nutri­ents can be recy­cled gently. Effi­cient, envi­ron­ment­ally friendly and without harmful by-products: You can rely on us – we are the world market leader.

THERMAL HYGIE­NI­ZA­TION

In principle, the carbo­ni­sa­tion in the PYREG process is as follows (similar to pyro­lysis). The dried feed mate­rial (at least 65% dry matter content) is fed through the 500-700 °C hot PYREG reac­tors. There, the mate­rial is not burned, but first degassed gently and then carbo­nised by the addi­tion of specific air. The mate­rial is thus comple­tely hygie­nised.

NO PROBLE­MATIC SUBS­TANCES

Since the combus­tible gases produced in the reac­tors are comple­tely combusted in a down­stream combus­tion chamber in the FLOX process (flameless oxida­tion) at around 1,000 °C, the process produces little thermal NOx. This also means that there are no problem subs­tances such as oils or tars, since the carbo­ni­sa­tion gas is not cooled but ther­mally oxidized in the afterburner chamber.

In an optional down­stream exhaust gas puri­fi­ca­tion stage, the acidic harmful gases are removed from the exhaust gas in an alka­line flue gas scrubber and vola­tile sewage sludge compon­ents such as mercury are adsorbed onto an activated carbon filter.

USABLE ENERGY

Carbo­ni­sa­tion is also auto­thermal, which means that only some external star­ting energy is required. Subse­quently, only the energy contained in the sewage sludge is used to main­tain the process. In addi­tion, up to 150 kWth or 600 kWth of excess heat energy can be used for sludge drying.

The PYREG System Movie

WHY A PYREG SYSTEM PAYS OFF

A PYREG system is extre­mely cost-effec­tive and guaran­tees maximum flexi­bi­lity. Only a small amount of initial energy is required to operate the compact system. Once the process has started, the PYREG system produces its own opera­ting heat. In addi­tion, further energy contin­gents are avail­able and can be used for drying or other peri­pheral uses.

ECONOMIC BENE­FITS

Reduc­tion of trans­port costs (more than 80%) through decen­tra­lised recy­cling.

Reduced space requi­re­ments and hand­ling costs.

Reduced admi­nis­tra­tion effort etc.

In-house instead of external exploi­ta­tion: Plan­ning secu­rity through decou­pling from market price deve­lop­ments.

Reve­nues from the marke­ting of carbon products.

Marke­ting of the surplus rege­ne­ra­tive energy.

Avoid­ance of other­wise necessary alter­na­tive invest­ments.

Long-term disposal secu­rity even with stricter limit values and envi­ron­mental protec­tion regu­la­tions.

KARBO­NI­SIE­RUNG – ÖKOLO­GISCH UND ÖKONO­MISCH SINN­VOLL

Die Karbo­ni­sie­rung – die Konver­sion von natür­li­chem Mate­rial zu Pflan­zen­kohle, Futter­kohle oder Aktiv­kohle – ist ein seit vielen Jahr­hun­derten bekannter Prozess. Doch nur im PYREG-Verfahren lassen sich die Prozess­pa­ra­meter so gezielt steuern, dass Carbon-Produkte in verschie­denen Quali­täts­stufen erzeugt und Nähr­stoffe scho­nend recy­celt werden können. Effi­zient, umwelt­freund­lich und ohne schäd­liche Neben­pro­dukte: Darauf können Sie sich verlassen und das macht uns zum Welt­markt­führer.

THER­MI­SCHE HYGIE­NI­SIE­RUNG

Das grund­sätz­lich läuft die Karbo­ni­sie­rung im PYREG-Verfahren folgen­der­maßen ab. Das getrock­nete Eintrags­ma­te­rial (mind. 65% Trocken­sub­stanz­ge­halt) wird durch die 500-700 °C heißen PYREG-Reak­toren geführt. Dort wird das Mate­rial nicht verbrannt, sondern erst scho­nend entgast und anschlie­ßend durch gezielte Luft­zu­gabe karbo­ni­siert. Damit ist das Mate­rial voll­ständig hygie­ni­siert.

KEINE PROBLEM­STOFFE

Da die in den Reak­toren entste­henden brenn­baren Gase in einer nach­ge­schal­teten Brenn­kammer im FLOX-Verfahren (flamm­lose Oxida­tion) bei rund 1.000 °C voll­ständig verbrannt werden, bildet das Verfahren wenig ther­mi­sches NOx. Auch entstehen so keine Problem­stoffe wie Öle oder Teere, da das Schwelgas nicht abge­kühlt, sondern in der Nach­brenn­kammer ther­misch oxidiert wird.

In einer optional nach­ge­schal­teten Abgas­rei­ni­gungs­stufe werden die sauren Schad­gase in einem alka­li­schen Rauch­gas­wä­scher aus dem Abgas entfernt und flüch­tige Klär­schlamm­be­stand­teile wie Queck­silber an einen Aktiv­koh­le­filter adsor­biert.

NUTZ­BARE ENERGIE

Die Karbo­ni­sie­rung verläuft zudem auto­therm, das heißt, es wird ledig­lich etwas externe Start­en­ergie benö­tigt. Anschlie­ßend wir für die Aufrecht­erhal­tung des Prozesses nur die im Klär­schlamm enthal­tene Energie genutzt. Zusätz­lich können bis zu 150 kWth bzw. 450 kWth an über­schüs­siger Wärme­en­ergie für die Klär­schlammt­rock­nung verwendet werden.

WARUM SICH EINE PYREG-ANLAGE RECHNET

Eine PYREG-Anlage arbeitet äußerst kosten­günstig und gewährt maximal Flexi­bi­lität. Für den Betrieb der kompakten Anlage ist ledig­lich eine geringe Menge an Initial­energie notwendig. Ist der Prozess in Gang gesetzt, produ­ziert die PYREG-Anlage ihre eigene Betriebs­wärme. Darüber hinaus stehen weitere Ener­gie­kon­tin­gente zur Verfü­gung und können zur Trock­nung oder ander­wei­tigen peri­pheren Nutzung einge­setzt werden.
ÖKONO­MI­SCHE NUTZEN­EF­FEKTE
Reduk­tion der Trans­port­kosten (mehr als 80%) durch dezen­trale Verwer­tung.
Redu­zierter Platz­be­darf und Hand­lings­kosten.
Gerin­gerer Admi­nis­tra­ti­ons­auf­wand etc.
Eigen- statt Fremd­ver­wer­tung: Planungs­si­cher­heit durch Abkopp­lung von der Markt­preis­ent­wick­lung.

Erlöse aus der Vermark­tung der Carbon-Produkte.

Vermark­tung der über­schüs­sigen rege­ne­ra­tiven Energie.
Vermei­dung von sonst erfor­der­li­chen Alter­nativ-Inves­ti­tionen.
Lang­fris­tige Entsor­gungs­si­cher­heit auch bei verschärften Grenz­werten und Umwelt­schutz­ver­ord­nungen.