Biochar: Envi­ron­ment­ally friendly and versa­tile

Biochar is produced by the carbo­ni­sa­tion of biomass. The biomass – for example, green waste, nuts­hells or wood­chips – is carbo­nised either in tradi­tional coal kilns or in modern pyro­lysis plants like PYREG systems under low-oxygen condi­tions, meaning it is ther­mally treated at lower tempe­ra­tures but not burned. Modern indus­trial processes like PYREG tech­no­logy produce pollutant-free, highly porous biochar. Depen­ding on the proces­sing stage, biochar can be used in a wide range of appli­ca­tions. It finds its way on the market as:

  • natural soil condi­tioner (promotes nutrient & water content as well as humus build-up)
  • natural feed addi­tive (in the form of feed carbon; improves animal health)
  • addi­tive in the biogas process (improves the gas yield)
  • natural stable bedding (improves the stable climate & reduces mate­rial costs)
  • natural addi­tive for compos­ting (binds nutri­ents & reduces green­house gases)
  • filter media (in the form of activated carbon or biochar)
  • cosme­tics & phar­maceu­tical addi­tive (in the form of activated carbon or biochar)

Abso­lutely climate-friendly: Biochar improves CO2-foot­print

In addi­tion to the many possible uses of biochar, “green char­coal” has another decisive advan­tage: It is obtained through a cutting-edge pyro­lysis process like PYREG process that is extre­mely envi­ron­ment­ally friendly (use of resi­dual biomass, energy-effi­cient, targeted control of process para­me­ters, hygie­nisa­tion & elimi­na­tion of pollut­ants…) and addi­tio­nally binds most of the carbon contained. This means that carbon is not released into the air as CO2 during the carbo­ni­sa­tion process, but is stably bound in the biochar and thus removed from the atmo­s­phere.

A posi­tive influ­ence: Biochar in the soil

Biochar has been redis­co­vered in recent years as a natural soil improver. Already thousands of years ago, South American Indians knew about the highly fertile effect of “terra preta” (black earth). Terra preta refers to fertile, dark soils in the Amazon region, which were created by pre-Colum­bian Indians thousands of years ago. Nutrient-poor soil was enri­ched with a composted or fermented mixture consis­ting of plant resi­dues, manure and human faeces as well as char­coal from the hearths.


However, biochar is not a ferti­liser if used alone. It is highly porous and has a surface area of up to 300m² per gram. Biochar acts as a sponge that can absorb up to five times its own weight. It stores water and nutri­ents and allows micro­or­ga­nisms to settle in its pores. This property is also described by the adsorp­tion capa­city (AC). It depends both on the pyro­lysed biomass and on the pyro­lysis condi­tions of the carbo­ni­sa­tion process.


To achieve the same effect as in the Amazon region, however, the biochar first needs to be ‘activated’, meaning it must be enri­ched with nutri­ents and soil orga­nisms, for example, during compos­ting. If pure biochar is intro­duced into the soil, it with­draws the water and the subs­tances dissolved in it from its surroun­dings and thus has exactly the oppo­site effect.

Biochar is avail­able in diffe­rent quality grades: Here you can see (from left to right) activated carbon, feed carbon and biochar.

BIOCHAR IN USE

Biochar doesn’t have to make a big splash to make an impact. It also has an effect in small areas, such as your own garden or balcony box. Ever­yone can do some­thing good for their soil and at the same time help the climate.

Biochar alone does not make a good garden soil. A handful of healthy earth contains more living orga­nisms than people on the planet: bacteria, flagel­lants and ciliates, fungi, algae, worms, beetles, larvae, snails, spiders, wood­lice… (from: Ute Scheub, Haiko Piplow, Hans-Peter Schmidt: Terra Preta, Oekom Verlag 2015 [German]). Biochar gives these small orga­nisms a habitat. It loosens up the garden soil, makes it perme­able to water and oxygen and releases the stored nutri­ents in a slow, gradual process.

For biochar to work in the soil, it is best to mix it with tradi­tional compost from garden and kitchen waste in an appro­xi­mate ratio of 5 (compost) to 1 (biochar). After­wards you should wait a few more weeks until the mixture has become soil. Ready. Inci­dent­ally, compos­ting also works very well in stacked small lattice boxes on the balcony.

“A healthy soil contains up to ten percent humus. Today it is usually only two to three percent” (Fredy Abächerli, Mana­ging Director of Verora GmbH and inst­ructor for soil struc­ture, humus manage­ment and compos­ting).

An intact humus layer stores nutri­ents and water as well as large amounts of the green­house gas CO2. Biochar faci­li­tates this process. With a surface of 200-500 m² per gram and a high poro­sity, biochar can absorb up to five times its own weight in water and the nutri­ents contained in it. The “green carbon” remains stable during decom­po­si­tion and does not rot.

As a result, farmers can improve the quality of soil with biochar, save money for ferti­li­sers and obtain addi­tional credits from emis­sion certi­fi­cates.

Further advan­tages:

  • Less stench
  • Nitrate loads in soil and ground­water are consi­der­ably reduced
  • The forma­tion of climate-dama­ging gases is consi­der­ably reduced
  • Soil acidi­fi­ca­tion is reduced
  • Humus build-up is increased
  • Plant nutri­ents remain avail­able much longer
  • The need for addi­tional ferti­liser is signi­fi­cantly reduced

The use of biochar has multiple advan­tages in the vineyard: It loosens the garden soil and makes it perme­able to water and oxygen. Important micro­or­ga­nisms can settle in the soil, demons­trably impro­ving soil ferti­lity. Thanks to its huge surface area and high poro­sity, biochar also has an excel­lent capa­city to store nutri­ents and water. There­fore, the ability of the grape­vines to with­stand extreme weather condi­tions such as weeks of drought stress and subse­quent flood-like rain­fall is signi­fi­cantly improved.


Biochar has also proven to be an envi­ron­ment­ally friendly and effec­tive carrier of manure. Biochar reduces nutrient leaching and envi­ron­ment­ally harmful emis­sions. Last but not least, the use of biochar in the vineyard is an important contri­bu­tion to climate protec­tion: carbon is returned to the soil from the CO2-conta­mi­nated atmo­s­phere.

Biochar can signi­fi­cantly improve the biogas yield. This is firstly due to the proper­ties of biochar, which binds impu­ri­ties thanks to its porous struc­ture and large surface area and thus stabi­lises the biogas process. In addi­tion, the substrates in the fermenter can be broken down more effec­tively because the micro­or­ga­nisms in the biochar matrix are better protected.

Biochar also has a number of advan­tages for the biogas process when it comes to climate protec­tion. If biochar is added to the fermen­ta­tion residue, nutrient losses and climate-dama­ging methane gas losses are reduced. If the fermen­ta­tion residue is carbo­nised, high-quality biochar can be produced from it and the carbon contained in the fermen­ta­tion residue is bound over the long term. This not only protects the envi­ron­ment, but also substan­ti­ally improves the effi­ci­ency of the gas produc­tion process.

In Europe, 90% of biochar is first used in animal husbandry (see Joachim Gerlach, Ithaka Journal 1/2012). Biochar is used in silage, as animal feed, in litter, for manure treat­ment or as a compost addi­tive.  Biochar improves animal health, reduces unplea­sant odours, opti­mises the quality of ferti­liser and reduces losses of nutri­ents that are harmful to the climate and the envi­ron­ment.

Guaran­teed quality: European Quality Label EBC

This is precisely why coal for animal feed is subject to strict quality control. It must be free of toxins, in parti­cular all tar subs­tances and their deri­va­tives must be comple­tely expelled. Last but not least, heavy metals are unde­s­i­rable in animal feed, which is why the raw mate­rial must also be care­fully selected. In order to define a quality stan­dard, the European Biochar Certi­fi­cate (EBC) was estab­lished, which sets the stan­dards for high-quality biochar.

Highly sustainable: Casca­ding use of biochar

The casca­ding use of biochar in animal husbandry and ferti­liser manage­ment, where the adsorp­tion capa­city of biochar plays an outstan­ding role, is also inte­res­ting from an economic point of view.

Stage 1: Silage

At the begin­ning, biochar is added to the silage, which prevents the forma­tion of myco­to­xins. At the same time, pesti­cides are fixed and the forma­tion of butyric acid is prevented, resul­ting in cleaner fermen­ta­tion and a noti­ce­able impro­ve­ment in feed quality.

Stage 2: Diges­tive process

The biochar then enters the feed via the silage, enhan­cing diges­tion of the animals. The feed intake is increased, which results in an increase in weight. This also reduces the forma­tion of green­house gases.

Stage 3: Stable hygiene

Biochar is added to the litter, thus binding the liquid nutri­ents and redu­cing ammonia emis­sions. It helps prevent putre­fac­tion, which in turn improves stable hygiene. After just a few days, unplea­sant odours are noti­ce­ably reduced. What’s more, stables do not have to be mucked out so often, thus saving time and mate­rial.

Stage 4: Liquid manure

Biochar can also be mixed into the liquid manure, which binds vola­tile nutri­ents and improves the micro­bial envi­ron­ment. This reduces nutrient losses, which improves the ferti­li­zing effect of the liquid manure. In addi­tion, the liquid manure becomes almost odour­less.

Stage 5: Farm­land

After absorp­tion of the manure (solid-liquid sepa­ra­tion), the solids are composted toge­ther with the stable bedding, which produces valu­able black earth thanks to the high propor­tion of biochar. The incor­po­ra­tion of this black soil and the stabi­lised liquid manure into the soil improves the water reten­tion capa­city, the filter perfor­mance and the aera­tion of the soil, which results in higher ferti­lity. Soil acidi­fi­ca­tion is prevented and the leaching of ferti­li­sers and pesti­cides into ground­water is reduced.

The advan­tages at a glance:

  • Improved health and increased vita­lity of the animals
  • Increased feed effi­ci­ency
  • Increase in feed intake
  • Increase in weight
  • Streng­t­he­ning of the immune system
  • Increase in milk quality in cows due to improved udder health
  • Reduc­tion of diar­rhoea and diseases of the hooves and footpad
  • Increase in egg produc­tion and egg quality in poultry
  • Impro­ve­ment of meat quality
  • Decrease in morta­lity rate
  • Signi­fi­cant increase in milk ingre­dients
  • Improved stable hygiene and reduced odour pollu­tion
  • Enor­mous odour reduc­tion of the liquid manure
  • Reduc­tion of costs for medi­cines and vete­ri­na­rians

The possible uses of biochar (pyro­ly­ti­cally produced biomass carbon) are extre­mely varied. It also has nume­rous posi­tive effects when used in indus­trial processes. Mainly in the form of activated carbon (adsor­bent) in water, gas and air puri­fi­ca­tion, but also as a redu­cing agent in metall­ur­gical processes, activated biochar has great poten­tial. In the cement industry, biochar can be used as an additive/replacer as well as in the produc­tion of buil­ding mate­rials.

Last but not least, biochar is bene­fi­cial because it substi­tutes fossil fuels and thus improves the CO2 foot­print (for more reading: Weber 2016, Biokohle. Herstel­lung, Eigen­schaften und Verwen­dung von Biomas­se­kar­bo­ni­saten, p. 279–282 [German]).

Impro­ving the resis­tance of urban trees: Biochar as plan­ting substrate

Millions of new trees are planted every year in Germany – to deco­rate spaces, as fruit trees or to improve air quality in urban areas. Their growth does not always progress smoothly; young trees increa­singly suffer from stress, depen­ding on the loca­tion. Too narrow plan­ting pits restrict root growth and soil compac­tion prevents suffi­cient oxygen and water from reaching the tree. What’s more, many trees suffer from climatic changes such as rising tempe­ra­tures, increa­sing drought stress in summer and more frequent extreme weather events.

Some large cities such as Melbourne or Toronto have there­fore swit­ched over to plan­ting their trees in mixed substrates of gravel and biochar. Biochar is not only much more porous than sand or clay, it is also not biode­graded or compacted as quickly as peat, for example. The high poro­sity of biochar increases gas exchange and water storage capa­city and ensures enhanced root pene­tra­tion thanks to its high permea­bi­lity.

Pflan­zen­kohle: Umwelt­freund­lich und viel­seitig einsetzbar

Pflan­zen­kohle entsteht durch die Verkoh­lung von Biomasse. Die Biomasse – z.B. Grün­schnitt, Sieb­reste oder Obst­kerne – wird dafür entweder in tradi­tio­nellen Kohlemei­lern oder in modernen Pyro­ly­se­an­lagen mit geringer Sauer­stoff­zugabe karbo­ni­siert, also nicht verbrannt, sondern bei gerin­geren Tempe­ra­turen ther­misch behan­delt. Bei modernen Indus­trie­ver­fahren wie dem PYREG-Verfahren entsteht so schad­stoff­freie, hoch­po­röse Pflan­zen­kohle. Je nach Verede­lungs­stufe kann die Pflan­zen­kohle in folgenden Berei­chen einge­setzt werden.

Sie wird vom Markt nach­ge­fragt als

  • Natür­li­cher Boden­ver­bes­serer (fördert den Nähr­stoff- & Wasser­ge­halt sowie Humus­aufbau)
  • Natür­liche Futter­mit­tel­zu­gabe (in Form von Futter­kohle; verbes­sert die Tier­ge­sund­heit)
  • Additiv im Biogas­pro­zess (verbes­sert den Gaser­trag)
  • Natür­li­ches Stal­l­ein­streu (verbes­sert das Stall­klima & redu­ziert den Mate­ri­al­auf­wand)
  • Natür­li­cher Hilfs­stoff für die Kompos­tie­rung (bindet Nähr­stoffe & redu­ziert Klima­gase)
  • Filter­mittel (in Form von Aktiv­kohle oder akti­vierter Pflan­zen­kohle)
  • Kosmetik & Arznei­mit­tel­zu­satz (in Form von Aktiv­kohle oder akti­vierter Pflan­zen­kohle)

Absolut klima­freund­lich: Pflan­zen­kohle verbes­sert die CO2-Bilanz

Neben den viel­fa­chen Verwen­dungs­mög­lich­keiten von Pflan­zen­kohle hat die „grüne Kohle“ einen weiteren entschei­denden Vorteil: Sie wird in modernen Pyro­ly­se­ver­fahren wie dem PYREG-Verfahren auf äußerst umwelt­freund­liche Art und Weise gewonnen (Verwen­dung von Rest-Biomassen, ener­gie­ef­fi­zi­entes Verfahren, gezielte Steue­rung der Prozess­pa­ra­meter, Hygie­ni­sie­rung & Schad­stof­feli­mi­nie­rung…) und bindet zusätz­lich den größten Teil des enthal­tenen Kohlen­stoffs. Das heißt, der Kohlen­stoff geht bei der Karbo­ni­sie­rung nicht wie bei der Verbren­nung als CO2 in die Luft, sondern wird in der Pflan­zen­kohle stabil gebunden und so der Atmo­sphäre entzogen.

Macht es besser: Pflan­zen­kohle im Boden

Pflan­zen­kohle wurde in den letzten Jahren als natür­li­cher Boden­ver­bes­serer wieder­ent­deckt. Denn schon vor Tausenden Jahren wussten die Indos um die entschei­dende, frucht­bare Wirkung der „Terra Preta“,  den frucht­baren, tief­schwarzen Boden im Amazo­nas­ge­biet. Diese „schwarze Erde“ entstand durch die Bewirt­schaf­tung der Indios, die den nähr­stoff­armen Boden mit einem kompos­tierten oder fermen­tierten Gemisch anrei­cherten, das aus Pflan­zen­resten, Dung sowie mensch­li­chen Fäka­lien bestand und Kohle aus den Herd­stellen enthielt.

Denn Pflan­zen­kohle alleine ist noch kein Dünger. Sie ist hoch­porös und besitzt eine Ober­fläche von 200-500 m² pro Gramm. Sie ist viel­mehr ein Schwamm, der bis zur fünf­fa­chen Menge seines Eigen­ge­wichts an Wasser und gelösten Nähr­stoffen aufnehmen kann. Diese Eigen­schaft wird auch durch die Adsorp­ti­ons­ka­pa­zität (AK) beschrieben. Sie hängt sowohl von der pyro­ly­sierten Biomasse als auch von den Pyro­ly­se­be­din­gungen des Karbo­ni­sie­rungs­ver­fahren ab.

Um den glei­chen Effekt wie im Amazonas zu errei­chen, muss die Pflan­zen­kohle zunächst „akti­viert“ werde. Dies bedeutet, sie muss mit Nähr­stoffen und Bodenlebewesen/Mikroorganismen ange­rei­chert werden, was beispiels­weise mit der Kompos­tie­rung erreicht werden kann. Wird reine Pflan­zen­kohle in den Boden gebracht, entzieht sie ihrer Umge­bung das Wasser sowie die darin gelösten Stoffe und hat so genau den gegen­tei­ligen Effekt.

Pflan­zen­kohle gibt es in verschie­denen Quali­täts­stufen: Hier zu sehen sind (von links nach rechts) Aktiv­kohle, Futter­kohle und Pflan­zen­kohle für die Boden­an­wen­dung.

PFLAN­ZEN­KOHLE IN DER ANWEN­DUNG

Pflan­zen­kohle braucht nicht den ganz großen Auftritt. Sie entfaltet ihre Wirkung auch im Kleinen, wie dem eigenen Garten oder Balkon­kasten. Jeder kann seinem Boden und gleich­zeitig dem Klima Gutes tun.

Pflan­zen­kohle allein macht noch keinen guten Garten­boden. Eine Hand­voll gesunde Erde enthält mehr Lebe­wesen als Menschen auf dem Planeten leben: Bakte­rien, Geißel- und Wimper­tier­chen, Pilze, Algen, Würmer, Käfer, Larven, Schne­cken, Spinnen, Asseln… Pflan­zen­kohle bietet diesen kleinen Orga­nismen Raum zum Leben (vgl. Scheub, Piplow, Schmidt 2015: Terra Preta). Sie lockert die Garten­erde auf, macht sie durch­lässig für Wasser und Sauer­stoff und gibt die gespei­cherten Nähr­stoffe langsam und konti­nu­ier­lich ab.

Damit Pflan­zen­kohle im Boden wirkt, sollte sie am besten mit dem klas­si­schen Kompost aus Garten- und Küchen­ab­fällen gemischt werden – im unge­fähren Verhältnis 5 (Kompost) : 1 (Pflan­zen­kohle). Anschlie­ßend sind noch ein paar Wochen Geduld gefragt, bis die Mischung vererdet ist. Kompos­tieren klappt übri­gens auch hervor­ra­gend in gesta­pelten kleinen Gitter­kisten auf dem Balkon.

Ein gesunder Boden enthält bis zu zehn Prozent Humus. Heute sind es in der Regel ledig­lich zwei bis drei Prozent.“ (Fredy Abächerli, Geschäfts­führer der Verora GmbH & Kurs­leiter für Boden­aufbau, Humus­ma­nage­ment und Kompos­tie­rung)

Eine intakte Humus­schicht spei­chert sowohl Nähr­stoffe als auch Wasser und große Mengen des Klima­gases CO2. Pflan­zen­kohle hilft dabei. Mit einer Ober­fläche von teil­weise 200-500 m² pro Gramm und ihrer hohen Poro­sität vermag die Pflan­zen­kohle bis zur fünf­fa­chen Menge ihres Eigen­ge­wichts an Wasser und den darin gelösten Nähr­stoffen aufzu­nehmen. Da die „grüne Kohle“ abbau­stabil ist, verrottet sie nicht und hilft entschei­dend beim Humus­aufbau.

Land­wirte haben mit Pflan­zen­kohle die Möglich­keit, ihre Böden aufzu­werten, Geld für Dünger zu sparen und zusätz­lich Gutschriften aus Emis­si­ons­zer­ti­fi­katen zu erhalten.

Weitere Vorteile:

  • Weniger Gestank
  • Nitrat­be­las­tungen im Boden und Grund­wasser werden erheb­lich redu­ziert
  • Die Entste­hung von klima­schäd­li­chen Gasen wird erheb­lich redu­ziert.
  • Die Boden­ver­saue­rung geht zurück
  • Der Humus­aufbau wird gestärkt
  • Pflan­zen­ver­füg­bare Nähr­stoffe bleiben wesent­lich länger verfügbar
  • Der Bedarf an zusätz­li­chem Dünger redu­ziert sich erheb­lich

Der Einsatz von Pflan­zen­kohle hat im Wein­berg gleich mehrere Vorteile. Pflan­zen­kohle lockert die Erde auf, macht sie durch­lässig für Wasser und Sauer­stoff. Wich­tige Mikro­or­ga­nismen siedeln sich an. Die Boden­frucht­bar­keit verbes­sert sich nach­weis­lich. Zudem ist Pflan­zen­kohle dank ihrer riesigen Ober­fläche ein hervor­ra­gender Spei­cher für Nähr­stoffe und Wasser. Extreme Witte­rungs­be­din­gungen wie wochen­langen Trocken­stress und anschlie­ßende sinn­flut­ar­tige Regen­fälle können die Wein­reben damit deut­lich besser über­stehen.

Auch hat sich Pflan­zen­kohle als umwelt­freund­li­cher und effek­tiver Träger für Wirt­schafts­dünger bewährt. Pflan­zen­kohle verrin­gert Nähr­stoff­aus­wa­schungen und umwelt­schäd­liche Emis­sionen. Nicht zuletzt ist der Einsatz von Pflan­zen­kohle im Wein­berg ein wich­tiger Beitrag zum Klima­schutz: Mit Pflan­zen­kohle wird Kohlen­stoff aus der CO2-über­las­teten Atmo­sphäre zurück in den Boden gebracht.

Pflan­zen­kohle kann den Biogas-Ertrag deut­lich verbes­sern. Die Gründe dafür liegen zum einen in der Beschaf­fen­heit der Pflan­zen­kohle: Durch ihre poröse Struktur und große Ober­fläche bindet sie Stör­stoffe und stabi­li­siert dadurch den Biogas­pro­zess. Zudem können die Substrate im Fermenter effek­tiver abge­baut werden, da die Mikro­or­ga­nismen in der Pflan­zen­koh­le­ma­trix besser geschützt sind.

Doch auch in Sachen Klima­schutz hat die Pflan­zen­kohle für den Biogas-Prozess einige Vorteile zu bieten. Wird dem Gärrest Pflan­zen­kohle zuge­setzt, redu­zieren sich die Nähr­stoff­ver­luste und klima­schäd­li­chen Methan­gas­ver­luste. Wird der Gärrest karbo­ni­siert, lässt sich daraus hoch­wer­tige Pflan­zen­kohle herstellen und der im Gärrest enthal­tene Kohlen­stoff wird lang­fristig gebunden. Das schützt nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern sorgt auch für eine deut­lich verbes­serte Wirt­schaft­lich­keit des Gaspro­duk­tions-Prozesses.

In Europa werden 90% der Pflan­zen­kohle zuerst in der Tier­hal­tung einge­setzt (vgl. Gerlach et. al, Ithaka Journal 1/2012). Pflan­zen­kohle findet hier Anwen­dung u.a. in der Silage, als Futter­mittel, in der Einstreu, zur Gülle­be­hand­lung oder als Kompost­zu­satz.  Pflan­zen­kohle verbes­sert dabei die Tier­ge­sund­heit, mindert Geruchs­be­läs­ti­gungen, opti­miert die Qualität des Wirt­schafts­dün­gers und redu­ziert klima- und umwelt­schäd­liche Verluste von Nähr­stoffen.

Gesi­cherte Qualität: Das Euro­päi­sches Quali­täts­siegel EBC

Gerade deshalb unter­liegt Futter­kohle einer strengen Quali­täts­über­wa­chung. Sie muss frei von Toxinen sein, insbe­son­dere müssen alle Teer­stoffe und deren Deri­vate voll­ständig ausge­trieben sein. Nicht zuletzt sind Schwer­me­talle im Tier­futter uner­wünscht, weshalb auch das Rohma­te­rial sorg­fältig ausge­sucht werden muss. Um einen Quali­täts­stan­dard zu defi­nieren, wurde das Euro­päi­sche Pflan­zen­kohle Zerti­fikat (EBC, European Biochar Certi­fi­cate) ins Leben gerufen, welches die Stan­dards für hoch­wer­tige Pflan­zen­kohle setzt.

Beson­ders nach­haltig: Die Kaska­den­nut­zung der Pflan­zen­kohle

Wirt­schaft­lich inter­es­sant ist die Kaska­den­nut­zung der Pflan­zen­kohle in der Tier­hal­tung und im Dünge­ma­nage­ment, wo vor allem die Adsorp­ti­ons­fä­hig­keit der Pflan­zen­kohle eine heraus­ra­gende Rolle spielt.

Erste Stufe: Silage

Zu Beginn wird Pflan­zen­kohle der Silage beigemischt, womit die Bildung von Myco­to­xinen verhin­dert wird. Gleichsam werden Pesti­zide fixiert und die Bildung von Butter­säure unter­bunden, was zu dem Ergebnis führt, dass die Fermen­ta­tion sauberer abläuft und sich die Futter­qua­lität merk­lich verbes­sert.

Zweite Stufe: Verdau­ungs­pro­zess

Die Pflan­zen­kohle gelangt dann über die Silage ins Futter und sorgt für eine verbes­serten Verdau­ungs­pro­zess der Tiere. Die Futter­auf­nahme wird erhöht, was eine Gewichts­zu­nahme zur Folge hat. Ebenso wird dadurch die Entste­hung von Klima­gasen vermin­dert.

Dritte Stufe: Stall­hy­giene

Die Pflan­zen­kohle wird zusätz­lich der Einstreu unter­ge­mischt, wodurch die flüs­sigen Nähr­stoffe gebunden und Ammo­ni­ak­emis­sionen vermin­dert werden. Fäulnis wird redu­ziert, was wiederum die Stall­hy­giene verbes­sert. Bereits nach wenigen Tagen vermin­dert sich die Geruchs­be­las­tung merk­lich. Auch muss nicht mehr so oft ausge­mistet werden, was den Zeit- und Mate­ri­al­auf­wand redu­ziert.

Vierte Stufe: Gülle/Mist

Pflan­zen­kohle kann auch in die Gülle einge­mischt, wodurch flüch­tige Nähr­stoffe gebunden und das mikro­bi­elle Milieu verbes­sert werden. So lassen sich Nähr­stoff­ver­luste redu­zieren, was die Dünge­wir­kung der Gülle verbes­sert. Zudem wird die Gülle nahezu geruchs­frei.

Fünfte Stufe: Acker

Nach der Absorp­tion der Gülle (Fest-Flüssig-Tren­nung) werden die Fest­stoffe zusammen mit dem Tret­mist kompos­tiert, wodurch dank des hohen Anteils an Pflan­zen­kohle wert­volle Schwarz­erde entsteht. Durch die Einar­bei­tung dieser Schwarz­erde und der stabi­li­sierten Flüs­sig­gülle in den Boden verbes­sert sich die Wasser­hal­te­fä­hig­keit, die Filter­leis­tung und die Belüf­tung der Böden, was eine höhere Frucht­bar­keit nach sich zieht. Boden­ver­saue­rung wird vorge­beugt, die Auswa­schung von Dünge­mit­teln und Pesti­ziden ins Grund­wasser redu­ziert.

Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

  • Ein verbes­serter Gesund­heits­zu­stand und eine gestei­gerte Vita­lität der Tiere
  • Erhö­hung der Futter­ef­fi­zienz
  • Zunahme der Futter­auf­nahme
  • Gewichts­zu­nahme
  • Stär­kung des Immun­sys­tems
  • Stei­ge­rung der Milch­qua­lität bei Kühen durch erhöhte Euter­ge­sund­heit
  • Vermin­de­rung von Durch­fällen und Klauen- und Fußbal­len­krank­heiten
  • Zunahme der Eier­pro­duk­tion und Eier­qua­lität bei Geflügel
  • Verbes­se­rung der Fleisch­qua­lität
  • Rück­gang der Morta­li­täts­rate
  • Deut­liche Zunahme der Milch­in­halts­stoffe
  • Verbes­serte Stall­hy­giene und gerin­gerer Mate­ri­al­auf­wand
  • Enorme Geruchs­re­duk­tion der Gülle
  • Verrin­ge­rung der Arznei- und Tier­arzt­kosten

Die Verwen­dungs­mög­lich­keiten von Pflan­zen­kohle (pyro­ly­tisch erzeugte Biomas­se­kar­bo­ni­sate) sind äußerst viel­fältig. Auch in indus­tri­ellen Prozessen hat sie zahl­reiche posi­tive Effekte zu bieten. Allen voran in Form von Aktiv­kohle (Adsorp­ti­ons­mittel) im Bereich der Wasser-, Gas- und Luft­rei­ni­gung, aber auch als Reduk­ti­ons­mittel in metall­ur­gi­schen Prozessen wird der akti­vierten Pflan­zen­kohle großes Poten­tial beschei­nigt. In der Zement­in­dus­trie kann Pflan­zen­kohle als Zusatz/Ersatzstoff ebenso zum Einsatz kommen wie bei der Herstel­lung von Baustoffen.

Nicht zuletzt kann Pflan­zen­kohle durch die Substi­tu­tion von fossilen Ener­gie­trä­gern und damit zur Verbes­se­rung des CO2-Fußab­dru­ckes punkten (zum Weiter­lesen für Pflan­zen­kohle in Indus­trie­an­wen­dungen: Weber 2016, Biokohle. Herstel­lung, Eigen­schaften und Verwen­dung von Biomas­se­kar­bo­ni­saten, p. 279–282).

Macht Stadt­bäume wider­stands­fä­higer: Pflan­zen­kohle im Pflanz­sub­strat

In Deutsch­land werden jähr­lich Millionen von Bäumen neu gepflanzt. Je nach Standort stehen junge Bäume zuneh­mend unter Stress. Zu enge Pflanz­gruben schränken ihr Wurzel­wachstum ein, Boden­ver­dich­tungen verhin­dern eine ausrei­chende Sauer­stoff- und Wasser­ver­sor­gung des Baums. Daneben leiden viele Bäume an den klima­ti­schen Verän­de­rungen mit zuneh­mendem Trocken­stress im Sommer und stei­genden Durch­schnitts­tem­pe­ra­turen sowie häufi­geren Extrem­wet­ter­er­eig­nissen.

Einige Groß­städte wie Stock­holm, Melbourne oder Toronto sind deshalb dazu über­ge­gangen, ihre Bäume in Misch­sub­strate aus Kies und Pflan­zen­kohle zu pflanzen. Pflan­zen­kohle ist nicht nur viel poröser als Sand oder Ton, sie wird auch nicht so schnell biolo­gisch abge­baut oder verdichtet sich wie beispiels­weise Torf. Die hohe Poro­sität der Pflan­zen­kohle fördert den Gasaus­tausch und die Wasser­hal­te­ka­pa­zität an den Wurzeln und sorgt insge­samt mit ihrer hohen Durch­läs­sig­keit für eine verbes­serte Wurzel­durch­drin­gung.